LSK unveils ‘Constitution Protection Committee’


The Law Society of Kenya (LSK) has formed a Committee on Protection and Ideal Implementation of the Constitution.

LSK President Eric Mutua said that the Council of LSK resolved to form the Committee over increasing concerns on the state of the rule of law sound implementation of the Constitution.

“The Executive arm of Government has demonstrated uncontrolled appetite towards violation of the Constitution and disregard to judicial pronouncements,” Mutua said at its unveiling, adding that MPs have at times passed or attempted to pass legislation that is glaringly unconstitutional, and pursued their oversight role with mala fide (bad faith).

“Judicial transformation seems to have stalled due to in-fighting and partisan interests at the Judiciary and runaway corruption is prevalent in public expenditure.”

The LSK President said that the above and current state of affairs has led to a near breakdown of law and order. “If unchecked the current trend is likely to erode the gains that the country has achieved in constitutional and legal reforms.”

Mutua said that Senior Counsel Gibson Kamau Kuria shall Convene the 35 member Committee, with Professor Patrick Lumumba as the Co-convenor.

Other members include Senior Counsels Ahmednasir Abdullahi and Paul Muite, as well as Lee Muthoga, Nzamba Kitonga.

Dr John Khaminwa, Gitobu Imanyara, Professor Ben Sihanya, Apollo Mboya, Judy Thongori, Wachira Maina, Njonjo Mue, Harun Ndubi, George Kegoro and Elisha Ongoya are some of those in the Committee.

Others include Fida Kenya Chairperson Dr Ruth Aura, Kituo Cha Sheria Executive Director Gertrude Angote, Harrison Kinyanjui, Kethi Kilonzo, Maurice Kimuli, Mbugua Muriithi, Simiyu Kuloba, Jennifer Shamalla, Caroline Khasoa, Ben Mosota, Julie Soweto, Anthony Oluoch, Vincent Lempaa, Rose Mbanya, Michael Sangoro, Waikwa Wanyoike, Omwanza Ombati, Mosoni Apale and Mercy Ngugi.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here