List of LSK contenders out


The Law Society of Kenya (LSK) has published a list of candidates seeking various positions in its upcoming elections.

The lawyers are scheduled to elect a President, Vice President, Council and a female representative in the Judicial Service Commission (JSC). Other positions include representatives in the Disciplinary Tribunal, Chairperson and Council of the newly established Nairobi branch.

Among those seeking the President’s post are James Aggrey Mwamu, Allen Waiyaki Gichuhi and Okero Isaac Edwin Nicholas.

Jennifer Mary Shamalla and Faith Waguthi Waigwa are contending for the position of Vice President.

Candidates for the position of JSC Representative are Abuodha Jane Awuor, Deche Mercy Mwarah Mbui, Kigen – Sorobit Marykaren Chesang, Mwangangi Florence Muoti and Onyango Jane Njeri Njoki.

Charles Njiru Kanjama and Mr. Theuri John Kinyanjui are seeking election in the position of the LSK Nairobi Branch.

Candidates for positions in the Advocates Disciplinary Tribunal are Abuodha Jane Awuor, Kenyariri Christopher Orina, Kinyanjui, Gladys Wamaitha Karanja,Nyariki Maria-Goretti and Weda Ambrose Otieno.

LSK CEO Apollo Mboya said that the nomination papers are being verified for compliance and that members will be informed on the status in due course

He said that the Council of LSK shall identify the election date upon confirmation by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC). Voting centres shall be communicated by the IEBC as well.

Mboya said that the official Campaign period starts on November 24 2015 up to a day before the election date.

The full list of candidates who have submitted their nomination papers can be viewed at



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here